Maremetraggio announces the names of the schools that won the Corallino Section. This year for the first time, Greek schools were invited to join this Section, in collaboration with the Hellenic Foundation for Culture – Italian Section.

More than 100 schools, both from Italy and Greece, have competed this year for the best short film in the Corallino Section.

Thanks to the collaboration with the Hellenic Foundation for Culture – Italian Section, the novelty of this tenth edition – the participation of Greek high schools – certainly helped to enrich the selection of films from both a thematic and technical point of view. Greek schools responded favourably: about 30 short flms have reached Maremetraggio premises. As the past editions, the jury of the Corallino Section presented three “Rotary Club Trieste Nord” awards: one dedicated to primary schools, another to middle schools and the last one to high schools. In addition to these three usual awards, two more prizes have been presented this year, namely the “Giorgio Costantinides” award, dedicated to the best Greek high school production, and the special prize “LILT – Sezione di Trieste”.

For this year the Corallino Section jury is made up of Ariella Reggio, actress and president of the jury, Aliki Kefalogianni, lawyer and director of the Hellenic Foundation for Culture – Italian Section, Massimiliano Forza, bassist, music composer for films and writer, Giuliana Perrotta, prefect and vice commissioner of the Friuli Venezia Giulia Government, and Fabiana Martini, in charge of the accountancies at the Promotion and Social Protection Department of the Municipality of Trieste and a film buff.

The jury presented the “Rotary Club Trieste Nord” awards to the following short films:

Primary school:

Istituto Comprensivo “Campanella-Sturzo”, Catania

Middle school:

Scuola Media Statale “Giacinto Diano”, Pozzuoli (NA)

High school:

Liceo Scientifico Statale “P. Metastasio”, Pantano (Scalea-Cosenza)

The special prize “LILT – Trieste Section” went to:

ITCGA “Olivetti”, Matera

The special prize “Giorgio Costantinides” went to:

Peiramatiko Geniko Lykeio Athinas

In addition to the awards, an honourable mention proposed by the High Commission of Government in Friuli Venezia Giulia – Prefecture of Trieste went to

Liceo Scientifico “Lorenzo Mascheroni”, Bergamo

The prizes will be presentes to the students from the winning schools, accompanied by a teacher, during the Festival. The students from Greece will be the Hellenic Foundation for Culture’s guests and they will have the chance to visit Trieste and enjoy the first days of the Festival. The short films will be screened at the Maremetraggio Village on June 27th at 6 pm and the presentaton of the “Rotary Club Trieste Nord”, “LILT Sezione di Trieste” and “Giorgio Costantinides” awards will then take place at about 7 pm: these videocameras will allow the winners to nurture their passion for video making.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.