The 2024 Premio Prospettiva of the ShorTS International Film Festival goes to Carlotta Gamba.

The young actress is to receive the award at the 25th Festival, scheduled in Trieste from 29 June to 6 July 2024.

ShorTS International Film Festival, historic film event organised in Trieste by Associazione Maremetraggio, now in its 25th year and scheduled from 29 June to 6 July 2024, has announced the Premio Prospettiva 2024. The prestigious award, which turns the spotlight on a young promise of Italian cinema, is to be awarded to Carlotta Gamba, who will be in Trieste during the Festival to collect the prize and who is also to take part in a public masterclass at Teatro Miela led by Maurizio di Rienzo, director of ShorTS IFF.

Born in Turin in 1997, Carlotta Gamba is striking in her spontaneity of delivery and ability to gauge light and shadow in her characters. A personality as ethereal as she is timeless, interpreting various nuances of femininity, she has demonstrated a lively and charismatic versatility, such as in her debut America Latina (2021) by the d’Innocenzo twins, her part in the debut films of three young directors – Marescotti Ruspoli (Amusia, 2022), Emilia Mazzacurati (Billy, 2023) and Margherita Vicario (Gloria! 2024) – involvement in the works of hugely experienced filmmakers such as Pupi Avati (Dante, 2022) and Walter Veltroni (Quando, 2023), and the Dostoevskij series (2024) where, once again directed by the d’Innocenzo twins, she confirms her talent. An intense and extremely interesting start to her artistic and professional career that the Festival already aims to recognise as important.

Since its inception, the Premio Prospettiva has strongly staked on the future of young talents. Once again in 2024 ShorTS IFF presents an award to an actor/actress of original impact, “up and coming” on the Italian film scene. Awards have been presented over the years to Alba Rohrwacher, Luca Marinelli, Michele Riondino, Matilda De Angelis, Daphne Scoccia, Sharon Caroccia, Jacopo Olmo Antinori, Francesco Di Napoli, Giulio Pranno, Luka Zunic, Aurora Giovinazzo and Massimiliano Caiazzo.

Read or download the press release here.